PDA

View Full Version : Is this a genuine deal!!


barney2002
03-02-2007, 03:10 PM
Hi all, as a new member this is my first post. I have viewed the forums in the past and as many of you (as well as myself) are awaiting the new N95 I thought I would share this with you..

Has anybody seen or used this company before (core tech world - based in italy) as it seems to good to be true (and it usually is) but they look reputable(ish) and state that they have the phone in stock BUT you order online and pay by Western Union money transfer and this always gets my alarm bells ringing (ebay etc...). Website looks professional enough but why not accept credit/debit cards ??

I have included a copy of the email they sent to me after I asked for availability etc.

Any help or advice would be appreciated.

Copy of email****


Dear Customer,

Yes, we have the new Nokia N95 in stock and the price is 270 Euro

If you would like to buy please place your order online.

Thank you,

*****************************************
CoreTechWorld.com
Core Tech S.R.L.
Via Del Maggiolino / 24
00186 - Roma - Italy

Support Team:
REMOVED

Sales Manager and Order Info: REMOVED

Webmaster:
REMOVED
*****************************************

Many thanks in advance for any help!!!

E616Vboy
03-02-2007, 03:15 PM
Scam. Stay well clear. N95 will be more like 5-600 euros, not 270. I have removed the emails to stop other members contacting this company.

bjh_101
03-02-2007, 03:18 PM
No way.

1) NEVER pay by Western Union

and

2) That is too cheap.

and

3) The domain name was only registered in November 2006, and its registered in the US, not Italy. http://www.whois.net/whois_new.cgi?d=coretechworld&tld=com

barney2002
03-02-2007, 03:20 PM
Thanks for the advice. I don't know if you viewed the website but I tend to agree with you. Why sell a premium sought after phone for such a low price - not good business sense. I guess with most things, sometimes you just need someone to agree with you and tell you to stay away!!!

Thanks again...

streetkid
03-02-2007, 03:26 PM
This really makes me angry, and sad. It is low to tempt people to part with their well earned cash, only to scam them.

The real warning sign is selling the ps3 for 300 euros, not gonna happen!

Let's hope no-one in desperation goes for it.

DeniseR
03-02-2007, 04:40 PM
See here, after doing a google search, came across this one for over £700

http://global.yesasia.com/en/Search/SearchResult.aspx

and here for £599

http://www.foneplanet.com/default.asp?showpage=categories.asp&cat=0

Not that I would but from any of these, I prefer to either buy in person or a reputable firm like expansys